Home>About Us

About Us

Improving the lives of Queenslanders living with arthritis.


About us 

Arthritis Queensland is a not-for-profit organisation that has been providing education, information and support services for Queensland children and adults living with arthritis since 1976.

Our Vision

An end to the pain of arthritis.

Our Mission

Improving the lives of Queenslanders living with arthritis.

What we do...

Consumer Information & Education

We provide information and education to people living with arthritis so that thay can take control of their condition. 

Education for Health Professionals

We help health professionals stay informed of best practice in the diagnoses and treatments for arthritis. 

Support

We provide compassionate support to people facing life with arthritis.


Awareness Raising

We work to raise awareness  that arthritis is an important and urgent issue.

Research

We fund research into better diagnoses, better treatments and to keep progressing towards a  cure.

Advocacy

We advocate for equality so that no one living with arthritis is disadvantaged as a result of their disease.


Our Team

Arthritis Queensland is run by a small team of staff who are committed to improving the lives of Queenslanders living with arthritis. 

Emma Thompson CEO
emma@arthritis.org.au
Paula Herlihen  Health Educator
paula@arthritis.org.au
James Bayliss  Health Promotion Officer
james@arthritis.org.au
Deborah Melloy  Fundraising Manager 

deborah@arthritis.org.au
Ritika Kotian Direct Marketing Coordinator 
ritika@arthritis.org.au
Claire Spokes  Office Administrator
 
admin@arthritis.org.au
Jess Lusher Office Administrator 
admin@arthritis.org.au
Wendy Angliss  Accounts Manager 
wendy@arthritis.org.au

Our Board

Arthritis Queensland is governed by a dedicated Board of Directors. Our Directors are volunteers who are chosen for their skills and experience and who receive no remuneration for their services.

Dr Ian Dover
BSc, MEng, PhD, FAICD, CMP  

President
 
Dr Helen Benham
MBBS (Hons), B.App.Sci (Pod), FRACP
Vice President 
 
Greg McClure Treasurer
 
Dr Jennifer Schafer Director
 
Ms Kate Templman Director
 
Ms Molly Sheen Director
 
Ms Anne Gribbin Director

Our  Patron

His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC, Governor of Queensland

SUBSRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER