Improving the lives of Queenslanders living with arthritis.

About us 

Arthritis Queensland is a not-for-profit organisation that has been providing education, information and support services for Queensland children and adults living with arthritis since 1976.

Our Vision

Freedom from pain.

Our Mission

Care and cure.

What we do...

Consumer Information & Education

We provide information and education to people living with arthritis so that thay can take control of their condition. 

Education for Health Professionals

We help health professionals stay informed of best practice in the diagnoses and treatments for arthritis. 


We provide compassionate support to people facing life with arthritis.

Awareness Raising

We work to raise awareness  that arthritis is an important and urgent issue.


We fund research into better diagnoses, better treatments and to keep progressing towards a  cure.


We advocate for equality so that no one living with arthritis is disadvantaged as a result of their disease.

Our Team

Arthritis Queensland is run by a small team of staff who are committed to improving the lives of Queenslanders living with arthritis. 

Emma Thompson CEO
Jessica Neri  Health Promotion Manager

Ultan O'Dwyer  Fundraising & Marketing Manager (QLD & NSW)

Sean Carmody  Exercise Program Coordinator 
(Monday - Thursday)

Ellen Murray  Senior Fundraising Coordinator 
(Monday - Wednesday)
Claire Spokes  Administration & Legacies Coordinator
(Monday - Tuesday)
Jess Lusher Administration & Volunteer Coordinator
(Wednesday - Friday)
Wendy Angliss  Financial Controller
(Tuesday and Thursday)
Nick Frizzo  Data Coordinator
(Monday, Wednesday and Friday)
Suruchi Shastri  Support Services Coordinator

Our Board

Arthritis Queensland is governed by a dedicated Board of Directors. Our Directors are volunteers who are chosen for their skills and experience and who receive no remuneration for their services.

Dr Helen Benham Chair
Kate Templeman Director
Michele Galagher Company Secretary/ Director
Dr Jennifer Schafer Director


Cheryl Dines Director

Anne Gribbin Director/ Chair of the Fundraising Committee

David Cairns of Finavon  Director/ Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

David Bryant  Director 

Dr Philip Robinson  Director 

Our  Patrons

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young PSM Governor of Queensland and Professor Graeme Nimmo RFD